After your first child, your breasts are working harder than they ever have (let’s face it, their day job up until now has been pretty simple). It’s confusing enough getting to know these changes in your body, let alone figuring out what kind of breast pump you want to use. The following is a review of the common types of breast pumps, to help you find the most efficient way to express milk, while keeping your “girls” safe and comfortable.

Manual breast pumps

Manual options are lightweight, quiet and portable. You manually compress the handle to express milk, using fingertip adjustable suction that allows you to choose what feels comfortable. Manual breast pumps are generally more economical, and some are as effective as electric pumps.

Double electric breast pumps

If the words “electric” and “breast” side-by-side make you nervous, don’t worry. Advances in technology have created electric breast pumps that offer moms a safe, comfortable and efficient pumping experience. An automated pumping action does the work for you, and produces more milk in less time by expressing it from both breasts simultaneously. Look for one with the maximum amount of personal control over the suction level and speed.

Battery-operated breast pumps

The best of both worlds! Battery-operated breast pumps combine the automated pumping of an electric pump, with the portability of a manual pump. Choose one that’s gentle and that gives you maximum control over your comfort.

Rental breast pumps

Renting a pump comes in handy if you plan on pumping exclusively or if you’re trying to maintain your milk supply after a multiple birth. Rental breast pumps are available for home use through hospitals and pharmacies.

Après la naissance votre premier enfant, vos seins travaillent plus fort que jamais auparavant (avouons-le, leur tâche quotidienne jusqu’à présent a été plutôt simple). Il est déjà assez difficile de comprendre tous les changements que subit votre corps, et encore plus de tenter de découvrir le type de tire-lait que vous souhaitez utiliser. Voici donc une revue des types communs de tire-lait pour vous aider à trouver la façon la plus efficace de tirer le lait, tout en protégeant vos seins et en assurant leur confort.

Tire-lait manuels

Les tire-lait manuels sont légers, silencieux et portatifs. Vous comprimez manuellement la poignée pour tirer le lait, et pouvez ajuster le niveau de succion du bout des doigts pour choisir ce qui est le plus confortable. Les tire-lait manuels sont habituellement plus économiques, et certains sont aussi efficaces que les tire-lait électriques.

Tire-lait électriques doubles

Si les mots « électrique » et « seins » placés côte à côte vous rendent nerveuse, ne vous inquiétez pas. Les progrès technologiques ont permis de créer des tire-lait électriques qui offrent aux mères une expérience sécuritaire, confortable et efficace. Une succion automatisée effectue le travail pour vous et permet d’obtenir plus de lait en moins de temps, puisque le lait est tiré des deux seins simultanément. Recherchez un tire-lait vous offrant le maximum de contrôle personnel sur le niveau de succion et la vitesse.

Tire-lait fonctionnant à pile

Le meilleur des deux mondes! Les tire-lait fonctionnant à pile combinent la succion automatisée d’un tire-lait électrique et la portabilité d’un tire-lait manuel. Choisissez un tire-lait qui travaille en douceur et qui vous offre le contrôle maximal de votre confort.

Tire-lait en location

Louer un tire-lait est pratique si vous prévoyez exclusivement tirer votre lait ou si vous tentez de maintenir votre production de lait après une naissance multiple. Les tire-lait en location sont offerts pour l’utilisation à domicile par l’intermédiaire des hôpitaux et des pharmacies.