Take care of yourself.

The healthier, more alert and present you are, the better it’ll be for you, your partner and your baby. But you’ll be none of those things if you burn yourself out. Depending on your baby’s temperament, that could happen quickly if you don't show yourself some love.

Here are five important tips for the first three months of parenthood that will help you adjust to life with a newborn.

1. Nap when the baby naps

Don’t think you have to clean or do a load of laundry while your little one sleeps. Anything on your do-to list can wait until the next nap, and you’ll get it all done so much faster with a bit more rest. The key is not to fight it if you feel like you need to lie down.

2. Take advantage of grandparents

No matter how good your little angel is, you’re going to need a break at some point. Give your folks some quality time with the baby while you take a well-deserved evening out of the house and away from all things parenting. You’ll be amazed how refreshing having an adult conversation can be.

3. Eat breakfast

Starting the day off on a healthy note will hopefully keep you on track for the rest of the day. It’s especially the most important meal when you’re caring for a newborn because life in 30-minute intervals (which will be your reality for the first 12 weeks) is much more exhausting without proper nutrition.

4. Treat yourself to some personal pampering

After about six weeks of parenting, you’ll have earned an hour or so of having someone looking after you. It doesn’t have to be a full day at the spa – just a simple massage might be all you need to recharge your battery. Find a babysitter you know won’t back out (grandparents are good for that kind of thing) so you can keep the appointment you book. You’ll come home more relaxed and ready to jump back into the fray.

5. Make time for sex

The extra spring you get in your step after a bit of naked time may be just what you and your partner need to get through the tougher days of parenthood. And while neither of you may feel like making love after a long afternoon of reading, feeding and cleaning, it’s important to get yourselves in the mood once in a while, even if you have to force it a bit.

You’ll probably begin sleep-training your baby between 4 and 5 months, and once they can make it through the night, you’ll start to get some semblance of your old self back. Until then, the better off you are, the better off your baby will be.

Prenez soin de vous.

Plus vous êtes en forme, dynamique et présente, mieux ce sera pour vous, votre partenaire et votre bébé. Cependant, vous n’y arriverez pas si vous êtes constamment épuisée. Selon le caractère de votre bébé, cela pourrait se produire plus rapidement que vous le pensez si vous ne vous prenez pas en main.

Voici cinq conseils utiles pour les trois premiers mois qui vous aideront à trouver le bon équilibre dans votre nouvelle vie avec bébé.

1. Faites la sieste en même temps que bébé

Ne pensez pas que vous devez nettoyer la maison ou faire la lessive pendant que bébé dort. Vos tâches peuvent certainement attendre la prochaine sieste et vous serez bien plus efficace après vous être reposée. Ne luttez pas si vous sentez que vous avez besoin de vous allonger.

2. Profitez des grands-parents

Même si votre petit ange n’est pas des plus turbulents, la pause s’impose à l’occasion. Faites-le garder par les grands-parents pendant que vous profitez d’une bonne soirée, loin de votre vie de maman. Vous serez surprise de voir à quel point il est agréable de retrouver de vraies conversations d’adulte.

3. Prenez votre déjeuner

Partez du bon pied en commençant la journée par un bon déjeuner. Il s’agit du repas le plus important lorsque vous vous occupez d’un bébé, car vous aurez très peu de répit pendant les douze premières semaines de bébé. Il est donc important d’avoir une bonne nutrition pour faire le plein d’énergie.

4. Offrez-vous un moment de détente

Après six semaines dans votre rôle de maman, vous avez bien mérité une pause d’une heure ou deux pour vous détendre. Inutile de passer la journée entière au spa – un simple massage suffira à recharger vos batteries. Trouvez une gardienne qui ne se désistera pas au dernier moment (les grands-parents sont généralement les meilleurs pour ça) et prenez rendez-vous. Vous serez plus détendue et prête à retourner au combat une fois rentrée à la maison.

5. Prévoyez du temps pour faire l’amour

L’énergie que vous avez après avoir fait l’amour est peut-être exactement ce dont vous et votre partenaire avez besoin pour faire face à vos difficultés de parents. Et même si aucun de vous deux n’est très porté sur la chose après une après-midi passée à lire, à nourrir bébé et à lui donner le bain, il est important de vous mettre dans l’ambiance de temps à autre.

Une fois que bébé fera ses nuits, autour du 4e ou du 5e mois, vous retrouverez un rythme normal. D’ici là, plus vous vous portez bien, plus bébé se sentira bien.